Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media Wins ‘Quote of the Year’ DisHonor at MRC Gala 2017

September 21st, 2017 11:15 PM

Washington, D.C. — Thursday night, a boisterous crowd of nearly 900 conservatives and guests packed the National Building Museum for the Media Research Center’s 30th Anniversary Gala featuring the 2017 DisHonors Awards. After the audience selected the most outrageous quote in three categories, the crowd singled out Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media for the ultimate “DisHonor” of being the MRC's “Quote of the Year.”

Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media earned the distinction after winning the Trumpocalypse Award earlier in the evening. It faced off against Brian Williams, winner of the “Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis,” and Douglas Brinkley, winner of the “Last Gasp Obamagasm Award.” Read on for details on how the evening unfolded:



Last Gasp Obamagasm Award

Earlier in the evening, CNN presidential historian Douglas Brinkley beat out stiff, Obama-loving competition to claim this award. Though the two other contestants tried, no one could beat Brinkley cheering the ex-President as an “ethical,” “scandal-free” legend. Winners were picked via an electronic device converying the consensus of each table.

On January 19, the CNN regular compared Obama to World War II hero Dwight D. Eisenhower, a man who planned the D-Day invasion and helped win World War II. According to Brinkley, the President who gave us the IRS scandal, the Fast and Furious scandal, the Benghazi scandal, and falsely told Americans if they “like[d] their doctor, [they] could keep [their] doctor,” is a “model of rectitude”:



It’s very hard to set the Barack Obama standard. In my mind, he’s like Dwight Eisenhower. He is almost unimpeachable. He has governed with such honesty and integrity, and he’s not only leaving with that 60 percent we keep talking, but a growing reputation. And the legacy of having eight scandal-free years is going to look larger and larger in history....When you rank Presidents on ethical standards, Barack Obama’s the highest. He’s up there with some of our really great American leaders. 

Upon Brinkley being voted the winner, CRC Public Relations President Greg Mueller took the stage to accept, in jest, this “DisHonor.”


Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis

Not surprisingly, Lyin’ Brian Williams prevailed as the winner of the Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis, beating out quotes from himself (yes, he had two quotes nominated), The View’s Sunny Hostin, and NBC News foreign correspondent Lucy Kafanov.



The Federalist’s Senior Editor Mollie Hemingway served as the category’s presenter as attendees voted among the four possible quotes. Afterward, House Freedom Caucus Chairman and Republican Congressman Mark Meadows (N.C.) accepted the award in jest on Williams’s behalf.

Williams dropped some pure lunacy in the early hours of November 26, 2016 when told MSNBC viewers following Fidel Castro’s death about Cuban transportation: “It’s still one of those nations [Cuba] where you see donkey carts alongside cars, trucks and buses in downtown Havana, because that’s exactly what they’d rather have for transportation.”

Trumpocalypse Award

Mollie Hemingway returned to the stage to present the Trumpocalypse Award. The winner was...Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media! So many quotes, it was just impossible to pick one. 



Representing Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media, attendees laughed at a video compilation from liberal journalists reacting to the election of President Trump. Journalists featured in the video included Tina Brown, Mika Brzezinski, Tom Friedman, Mark Halperin, Van Jones, Terry Moran, Ana Navarro, Keith Olbermann, Ron Reagan Jr., and many more.

> Earlier in the night, Every Single Person We Don’t Like in the Liberal Media also won the "Trumpocalypse" prize.

> To see Mark Levin praise the MRC and Brent Bozell, saying, “I rely” on them, go here

> CNN presidential historian Douglas Brinkley ran away with the “Last Gasp Obamagasam Award.”

> Disgraced MSNBC journalist Brian Williams, fittingly, won the “Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis.”

> For the “Kathy Griffin Celebrity Dumbass Award,” lefty actress Ashley Judd vanquished tough competition.

> For “The Funnies,” presented by Joe Piscopo.

>> For a full rundown and all the video, check this section on MRC.org devoted to the evening. <<