Jay Z, Kanye West, Madonna, and Rolling Stones Join Stevie Wonder's Florida Boycott

July 23rd, 2013 10:18 AM

As NewsBusters previously reported, Stevie Wonder announced last Monday that in the wake of the George Zimmerman verdict, he was boycotting Florida due to the state's Stand Your Ground law.

According to April Ryan, White House correspondent for American Urban Radio Networks, top stars such as Jay Z, Kanye West, Madonna, and the Rolling Stones have joined Wonder's boycott.

Here's Ryan's complete list:

  • Mary Mary
  • Eddie Levert
  • Rod Stewart
  • Madonna
  • Usher
  • Pattie Labelle
  • Kanye West
  • Mary J
  • Trey Songz
  • Jay Z
  • Rolling Stones
  • Justin Timberlake
  • R. Kelly
  • Rihanna
  • Alicia Keys
  • Joe
  • Will I AM
  • Keyshia Cole
  • Young Jeezy
  • Erykah Badu
  • Wale
  • Frankie Beverly
  • Parliament

Britain's Daily Mail reported Tuesday that Rihanna is not participating in the boycott. Also, Jay Z and Justin Timberlake have not cancelled their August show in Miami's Sun Life stadium.

According to ProPublica, these are the other states that have some version of a Stand Your Ground law:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois (The law does not include a duty to retreat, which courts have interpreted as a right to expansive self-defense.)
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon (Also does not include a duty to retreat.)
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington (Also does not include a duty to retreat.)
  • West Virginia

It will certainly cut into one's revenue boycotting all those states.

Something else these folks should consider is that when Barack Obama was a state senator in Illinois, he co-sponsored and voted for a bill to strengthen his state's Stand Your Ground law.

Somehow I doubt they'll be boycotting him if he asks them to perform at the White House in the future.