5,000th 'Wheel of Fortune,' Sajak Accepts for Rosie, Get Tickets for This Year's 'DisHonors'

February 27th, 2009 2:15 PM
Now in its 26th year, today the 5,000 edition of the syndicated Wheel of Fortune game show will air around the nation – which reminded me (always looking for a hook to plug our upcoming “DisHonors Awards”) -- that just under two years ago Wheel host Pat Sajak took part in our 2007 event. At the MRC’s “2007 DisHonors Awards: Roasting the Most Outrageously Biased Liberal Reporters of 2006,” the showcase of the MRC's 20th Anniversary Gala on March 29, 2007, Sajak accepted, on behalf of Rosie O'Donnell, the “I’m Not a Political Genius But I Play One on TV Award.” O'Donnell won for spouting:
As a result of the [9/11] attack and the killing of nearly 3,000 innocent people, we invaded two countries and killed innocent people in their countries....Radical Christianity is just as threatening as radical Islam in a country like America.
Video is of Herman Cain introducing Sajak and then Sajak's humorous remarks as he accepted the award in jest for O'Donnell.

Which all goes to remind everyone that this year's “DisHonors Awards for the Worst Reporting of the Year” with the annual “William F. Buckley Award for Media Excellence” to be presented to Brit Hume, are just 20 days away. Every year, we sell out. So don't procrastinate on getting a ticket.

It will take place on Thursday evening, March 19th, at the Grand Hyatt Washington.

The MRC gala is one of the most fun events of the year. Rush Limbaugh called it "a terrific show...a great, great, great assemblage of people....Everybody just had a blast!" Sean Hannity exclaimed: "I love this event!"

The DisHonors Awards winners will be announced "Oscar-style," with videos played of each nominated hilariously-biased quote followed by surprise guests on hand to accept each award in jest on behalf of a media figure.

Awards will be presented by Ann Coulter, Joe Scarborough and Ken Cribb. And, as always, we'll have a fantastic cast of conservatives joining us to roast of the liberal media. "Joe the Plumber" and Andrew Breitbart are amongst the many who have already confirmed.

DisHonors Awards categories: "The Media's Messiah Award," "The Obamagasm Award" "Half-Baked Alaska Award for Pummeling Palin" and the "Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis."

Plus, there'll be lots of funny video clips as we mock the media's infatuation with Barack Obama. It's sure to be an entertaining evening.

Tickets for the Gala are $250 per person. If you are interested in joining us or for more information, e-mail Sara Bell at: sbell@mediaresearch.org

Or call, 9 to 5:30 PM EST weekdays: (800) 672-1423.

We have limited space and this event fills up quickly, so please make your reservation soon.

We hope you can join us!

Online page with information.

For a look at all the fun at last year's event, with videos.

DisHonors/Galas from earlier years.