UPDATE: Alter Celebrates on Twitter | And the 2013 DisHonors Quote of the Year Winner Is... Jonathan Alter

UPDATE (Sept. 27; 12:45 p.m. EDT): Alter is thrilled with having won last night. He tweeted this morning, "I won grand prize from rightwing Newsbusters for saying in '12 that repealing ACA wld lead to death. Yeah!"

UPDATED (Sept. 27; 11:20 a.m. EDT): We've added the videos of Melissa Harris-Perry and Chris Matthews, winners in the Dan Rather Memorial Award for the Stupidest Analysis and The Puppy Love Award, respectively.

As voted on by a raucous crowd of nearly 900 attendees at the Media Research Center's 2013 Gala, the Quote of the Year Award was given to none other than the ever-so-contemptible Jonathan Alter, an all-too-frequent contributor at the Obamagasmic network MSNBC. Alter beat out Chris Matthews and Melissa Harris-Perry, also of the Lean Forward network. Alter won for his pronouncement in August 2012 that "repeal [of ObamaCare] equals death" for many Americans.

To watch video of the winning clip, click the play button on the embed below the page break. Come back on Friday for more blog posts about the 2013 MRC Gala featuring the DisHonors Awards.

The runners-up:

A picture of the winner:

NB Staff
NB Staff