Open Thread


Latest from Open Thread

Your official Friday thread. Captionfest nominations, jokes, and whatever else.

UPDATE 14:38. From the not-exactly-media-bias department: MSNBC host Tucker Carlson is going to be on "Dancing with the Stars." HT: Insty.


NewsBusters senior editor Tim Graham appeared Monday night on FNC's "Hannity & Colmes" to discuss the Reuters photography scandal. If you missed it (including his clash with Alan Colmes), watch the video clip, of his entire appearance, linked below -- or tune it when the program airs again at 2am EDT (1am CDT, 12 midnight MDT and 11pm PDT). Tim appeared for about five minutes, starting 14 minutes into the program. Use this thread to post your comments about the show.

Video clip (4:30): Real (3.4 MB at 100 kbps) or Windows Media (2.8 MB at 81 kbps), plus MP3 audio (1.6 MB)


MRC President Brent Bozell appeared Friday night on MSNBC's Scarborough Country to discuss the media's coverage of Mel Gibson and religion as well as Hollywood's hypocrisy in condemning Gibson while otherwise ridiculing religious believers. Use this thread to post your comments about the show.


Almost the weekend...


In the news: Castro gives power to brother, Raul during period of poor health. Mel Gibson ABC series about Holocaust jeopardized by anti-Jewish comments. Myspace no longer top American internet site (Alexa ratings).


Mhmm. Fresh open thread. Enjoy...



The MRC's Brent Bozell will be on the Fox News Channel's "O'Reilly Factor" tonight at 8pm Eastern to discuss the media's coverage of the Israel-Palestine conflict. The show repeats at 11pm and 4am Eastern as well. Use this thread to post your comments.

Video of interview (4:22): Real at 100 kbps (3.3 MB), Windows Media at 81 kbps (2.8 MB), plus MP3 audio (1.5 MB).

UPDATE: A full transcript is available below the fold.


What's news today?


Have at it...


New and improved! OK, just a new thread for you to post whatever's on your mind.


You know the drill...


Today in the 4:00 et hour, and later replayed in the 6:00 et hour, NewsBusters executive editor Matt Sheffield will speak with Tucker Carlson on MSNBC.

They will discuss Dan Rather's new career as a TV host for Mark Cuban, the controversial billionaire owner of the NBA Dallas Mavericks and owner of HDNet, a small network for high definition televisions sets. Rather will host his own show on the network.

Post your comments as you watch the 6:00 ET replay.

UPDATE: Video available in Windows Media (100k and 256k) or Real (255k). Transcript is below the fold.


Open thread "Apocalypse Tuesday" edition.


Sound off on how the media is covering President Bush's speech and the Democratic response.